Methodist Girls' School (Secondary)

It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 10:18 am

All times are UTC + 8 hours

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 176 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 18  Next
 Post subject: Methodist Girls' School (Secondary)
PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 11:28 am 
YellowBelt
YellowBelt

Original Title: MGS SBC Programme

Hi,

Are there any parents or past / existing students or anyone who can share what they know about MGS Sophia Blackmore Programme. I have some basic knowledge, but I would like to know more, in terms of the student's response to the programme, development, curriculum, pros and cons. The reason is that my hubby and I are undecided between 2 schools for our dd and we hope we can have more input before the submission of the School Preference Form next month.

Thanks in advance for all your help. I appreciate it.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2009 3:28 pm 
KiasuNewbie
KiasuNewbie

presuming you've looked up the mgs website, etc.

you can't really generalize the sbc student response to it. most would rather be in the programme, some think it's too stressful, others think it's exciting. response varies accordingly with student aptitude, creativity, and love of and drive in learning. students in it come to learn to balance the singaporean style of education and the ib style as expectations of them are firmly and somewhat eclectically rooted in these two.

curriculum subjects are generally the same, except sbc students have philosophy classes and iso periods - the effectiveness in teaching of which is dependent on the teacher assigned and the group dynamics (for the latter). higher weightage is placed on graded assignments, class tests and daily work, however.
students take different exams and tests from the mainstream in sec 1 and 2, and have more creative approaches to subjects - such manifest themselves in projects and presentations which require depth of thought and much thinking out of the box.