Opennet termination unit

General comments and chit-chat, or tell us how we can improve KiasuParents.com

Opennet termination unit

Postby tianzhu » Tue Feb 22, 2011 3:00 pm

Hi

Is Opennet going to replace the cable TV when it is fully operational?

Are there any gadgets which enable us to receive TV signal when the termination unit is not installed near the TV?

Please advise.

Thank you.

Best wishes

tianzhu
Councillor
Councillor
 
Posts: 3789
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 8:10 pm
Total Likes: 5


Postby verykiasu2010 » Tue Feb 22, 2011 3:13 pm

M1 has already started offering cable services using the opennet

No, opennet is just the infrastructure, just like the water pipe going into every house, it won't replace starhub or singtel or m1

you can buy the cable content from any providers

if the termination unit is not near your tv, you have to extend it, or you need a longer cable from the termination unit to your set top box
verykiasu2010
KiasuGrandMaster
KiasuGrandMaster
 
Posts: 11696
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 11:06 pm
Total Likes: 2


Postby tianzhu » Tue Feb 22, 2011 3:23 pm

Hi

Thank you for your reply.

Besides cable extension, I am wondering if there are gadgets which allow us to do that.

What happens to the existing cable termination box for TV when one uses the Opennet termination unit?

Best wishes

tianzhu
Councillor
Councillor
 
Posts: 3789
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 8:10 pm
Total Likes: 5


Postby BigDevil » Tue Feb 22, 2011 3:49 pm

The Opennet termination only provides the infrastructure to carry signal/data to your home over fibre.

To decode the signal, you will still need another box from your service provider (be it Singtel, Starhub, or M1).

It is no different from current cable TV service. The signal is always
there and you can get it off the termination point. But without the
cable box, you will not be able to get a clear picture on your TV.

BigDevil
ClassMonitor
ClassMonitor
 
Posts: 9157
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 6:30 pm
Total Likes: 19



Return to Recess Time