Education as an equalising instrument for society

General comments and chit-chat, or tell us how we can improve KiasuParents.com

Education as an equalising instrument for society

Postby kaka » Sat Dec 17, 2011 12:49 am

In today's s ST, there is an article "Finnish school system ticks all the right boxes". I read with interest and was pleasantly :yikes: when I read:
"The primary aim of education is to serve as an equalising instrument for society." I am a novice in education systems and I thought wow, this is such a noble goal.

It is so different in Singapore. Our education system ranks our children with the PSLE COP ... top 1%, 10% etc into the top tier, 2nd tier etc schools. That's why the rush to more tuition centres, more SAHMs ... more focus on doing better than others instead of learning for knowledge.

Can it work for Singapore?

kaka
BlueBelt
BlueBelt

Re: Education as an equalising instrument for society

Postby UncleLim » Sat Dec 17, 2011 12:24 pm

I am not sure about Singapore. I do not think we have a system to educate the young.

But we do have the world's top exam-taking preparation system. Just check the profits of Learning Lab and exam-paper photocopiers.

UncleLim
BrownBelt
BrownBelt

Postby Chenonceau » Sat Dec 17, 2011 12:48 pm

Our educational system actually stratifies our society. Children get streamed into best better good schools. They make friends with people with similar grades. As they grow up, they hang out with the same people. The social structure settles into strata.

We've followed the anglo-saxon testing methodologies so blindly that we no longer have a Ministry of Education, we have Ministry of Testing... we no longer have schools that teach, we have schools that test beyond what is taught... we no longer have teachers, we have test writers and markers... and people who write audit reports so that schools can get awards and funding.