Let the children be (from TODAY May 16)

General comments and chit-chat, or tell us how we can improve KiasuParents.com

Let the children be (from TODAY May 16)

Postby coast » Wed May 16, 2012 6:24 am

http://www.todayonline.com/Voices/EDC12 ... hildren-be

Let the children be
by Amanda Tan Pheck Choo
04:46 AM May 16, 2012

As a former teacher, I was berated by senior teachers for not using "flowery, pretentious sentences", as described in the letter "It's a strong foundation that counts" (May 9), in creative writing.

I was accused of wanting my pupils to fail their Primary School Leaving Examination (PSLE).

Recently, my eight-year-old came home with a "creative" writing assignment. She produced a list of "useful words and phrases that her teacher copied from a creative writing book" for the pupils to transfer onto the whiteboard.

The instructions were to write these down in complete sentences. I paused for a second, then asked: "Which of these words are yours?" "None," came the innocent reply. After doing what the teacher ordered, my little girl asked: "Now, can I write my story?"

In writing, we are told what to write, what title to give it, what words to use and avoid, to discard the unbelievable and play safe.

We are given picture compositions about a day at the beach, a bad fall, an incident on a bus - hardly fodder for interesting discussion.

My spouse, a college teacher, laments the lack of disciplined training in clear, logical thinking and the lack of ideas, persuasive argument and communication skills in his pre-university students. I wonder where we went wrong, when all this started.

When children are in primary school, why are they not asked for solutions to train disruptions, how to get women to have more babies, how to stop people from smoking? These are just as relatable, if not more fascinating, topics for discussion.