Road safety and correct driver behavior

General comments and chit-chat, or tell us how we can improve KiasuParents.com

Road safety and correct driver behavior

Postby ngl2010 » Mon Apr 29, 2013 1:34 pm

Dear Moderators,

Could you please move postings on speedings topic that have been embargoed by Chief to this thread? Thank you.

ngl2010
KiasuGrandMaster
KiasuGrandMaster

Re: Road safety and correct driver behavior

Postby concern2 » Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:10 pm

I sort of understood what Insider was trying to say about passengers not commenting on what drivers do. I've had my fair share of frustrations when DH drives, and I think that kind of frustration arises due to the fact that I am also a driver (we tend to be on the alert too), although her case is that she isn't a driver, but that's not the point.

Anyway, the fact that there are so many accidents on the road these days, I tend to drive slower and especially careful when I am near zebra crossings. You won't know when a cyclist will just cross at the zebra crossing without stopping first and a young boy would suddenly turn around to pick up a toy he dropped.

So when DH drives, I would - or rather, used to yell out - "BE CAREFUL! "BICYCLE!" or "WATCH OUT! THERE'S A MAN IN BLACK!" (at night) - for fear that DH would miss him as his speed to me was still relatively faster than how I would drive. And every time I do that, he would turn around and bark at me,"I KNOW LAH! WHY YOU SCARED ME LIKE THAT!" Of course, I would explain that I thought he did not see. "OF COURSE I SAW LAH!" He would bark back.

I wouldn't give up. But this time, I would control my voice. I had to be calmer than him - "A boy" , "Old lady crossing", "Cyclist approaching" - and sometimes, he would still get annoying - "I know lah" or "I SAAAAW" - make me sound like I really busy-body and very loh soh right? Once or twice I got so hurt I just closed my eyes and :xedfingers: I just had to have faith - that kind of feeling.