Tell me your Kiasu parenting experience! NTU student here :)

General comments and chit-chat, or tell us how we can improve KiasuParents.com

Tell me your Kiasu parenting experience! NTU student here :)

Postby ooopsger » Sun Oct 25, 2009 12:29 am

Self Introduction:

I am not a parent, yet (: But I am a sister of two younger brothers who make me worry on their academic performance.

My name is Evelyn Wong and I am a journalism student from Wee Kim Wee School of Communication and Information.

I am a generation y kid raised by generation x parents:

I come from a working class family and in summary, my dad is the main breadwinner and my mum, a housewife, does odd jobs to contribute to the family income. They are parents who want the best for their children (all parents too). They are not very educated but still, they are staunch believers in the value of education and make sure they do their best to give my brothers and I quality education.

Purpose of this post:

I am currently researching on a news article project on the increase activity in online parenting communities. I am interested in understanding your parenting concerns in raising a generation z (children born from the mid-1990s) child in Singapore and the benefits you derive from Kiasuparents.com

I would like to understand you, kiasu parents more by eliciting comments from you all. Please spare me a few minutes of your time to do so. Your kind assistance is much appreciated and will in turn add value to my understanding of parents nowadays which would be reflected in my news article project. :pray:

P.S. Please note that comments are non-obligatory and I do not mean to cause any disturbance at this forum. (I hope I get the clearing from the administrators too!)

Questions:

To better understand you:
1) Are you a father or a mother?
2) Are you a SAHP/ FTWP?
3) tell me something about your beloved child/ren.

Your perspective on parenting
1) what does parenting mean to you?