Where to get gold ring expanded?

General comments and chit-chat, or tell us how we can improve KiasuParents.com

Where to get gold ring expanded?

Postby slmkhoo » Wed Apr 09, 2014 4:21 pm

Not sure where to post this. Mods, please move if it shouldn't be here!

Does anyone know where I can get a gold ring expanded? Somewhere reliable and not too expensive? Thanks!

slmkhoo
KiasuGrandMaster
KiasuGrandMaster

Re: Where to get gold ring expanded?

Postby hquek » Wed Apr 09, 2014 4:28 pm

Thought any goldsmith shop can do? I used to part time in a small shop when I was a student. They have tools that can help enlarge if the size diff is not too big - and on the spot too.

If the diff is too big, there is danger that the ring may snap (again depend on how slim/thick it is).

hquek
Councillor
Councillor

Postby coolbreeze » Wed Apr 09, 2014 4:48 pm

Any goldsmith shop will do but best to go back to the same shop where u bought them.

coolbreeze
BlueBelt
BlueBelt

Postby slmkhoo » Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:11 pm

coolbreeze wrote:Any goldsmith shop will do but best to go back to the same shop where u bought them.

Too long ago! I've had this ring for more than 20 yrs. I find my knuckle is getting a bit big (with age) and it can be a squeeze to get it on and off on some days.

Any idea what the charges might be?

slmkhoo
KiasuGrandMaster
KiasuGrandMaster

Postby slmkhoo » Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:14 pm

hquek wrote:Thought any goldsmith shop can do? I used to part time in a small shop when I was a student. They have tools that can help enlarge if the size diff is not too big - and on the spot too.

If the diff is too big, there is danger that the ring may snap (again depend on how slim/thick it is).

Thank! Any idea what the charges might be? And where can I find a goldsmith these days? I haven't bought jewellery for more than 20 yrs!

slmkhoo
KiasuGrandMaster
KiasuGrandMaster

Postby Integer » Wed Apr 09, 2014 5:29 pm