Unfair(?) entry into normal academic stream

General comments and chit-chat, or tell us how we can improve KiasuParents.com

Unfair(?) entry into normal academic stream

Postby Fullbanchoforce » Fri Apr 11, 2014 3:49 pm

I am a sec 1 student. I'm NA. My PSLE score is 174, and I know very well that the lowest score possible for entry to NA is 152. But I have a classmate in my class, that only got 139.139! But she's in NA? Isn't that unfair? I asked the teacher, but the teacher refuses to tell me why is she in NA. Actually, I am quite mad at this.she got 139, and she could come to NA? Then, I could assume That i can be granted entry into express, since i got 174! It's so unfair!

Fullbanchoforce
KiasuNewbie
KiasuNewbie

Re: Unfair(?) entry into normal academic stream

Postby slmkhoo » Fri Apr 11, 2014 5:38 pm

I don't want to comment on the fairness or unfairness of the system, but just want to point out that life is not always 'fair'. You don't know all the details, so there may be factors you are unaware of. For your own sake, just focus on your own studies and don't worry about whether others deserve to be there or not. Your results will be what really matter for you. Look at the positive side of being in NA - you get a slower pace and have more time to grasp concepts. If you do well, you have a chance to transfer to express later on, and you have a chance to take the O levels eventually anyway. If you went to express now, maybe you might find it really tough? I have a daughter who (on our advice) has opted for a slower stream as well as we think that suits her better. We advised her that there was no point trying to squeeze in the bottom of the faster stream but struggling.

slmkhoo
KiasuGrandMaster
KiasuGrandMaster

2 people like this post

Postby rains » Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:17 pm