Kid with ADD

Parental influence on children in the first 12 years of their lives have a permanent effect. Unfortunately, children come with no user manual. Each child is different from the other. Discuss how to handle emotional and educational needs of your child here.

Kid with ADD

Postby Nomnom » Mon Feb 06, 2012 3:55 pm

Hi,

I'm a newbie here so please don't shoot me if i have done anything wrong here.
I'm just clueless as to what i am supposed to do with my 8 yr old kid.I'm a young mummy when i had him
at 21.. I think maybe it got to do with my inexperience or not sure if there's something wrong with me
for not being able to control my son.

My son did pretty ok in preschool with teachers commenting he is hyper and a happy kid.Once he reach primary
school, he is still a happy kid now but there is one big issue. He can be disruptive in a class where he distract the teacher or the classmate
by talking to them, playing with them, even during lessons. His grades from 70s plummet to 40-50s... He can sit
still in a classroom but not able to pay attention nor finish his schoolwork daily, thus bringing them home
to finish it. As a result, he often has a lot of work to do at home. Being having both working parents, we put him
at my sis place. She a SAHM with 3kids and a maid. She tries her best to tell him to bath/do homework/take nap
as it is a routine. I m a single parent which my son is currently living with his father.

When he was primary two, after mid year, the concerned form teacher called about his worsening behaviour, i
asked if its possible that my son has ADD as one year has already pass and he has not stabilised.He lose stationary
every week. In a year, he can lose up to 30 stationary items and as well as books/folders. He is extremely
forgetful and has lack of concentration which affect his studies. Counselor were called in to observe. After
observation, she wrote a letter of recommendation for the hospital. I went with him to get some testing done