$$ well spent for attending preschool

Parental influence on children in the first 12 years of their lives have a permanent effect. Unfortunately, children come with no user manual. Each child is different from the other. Discuss how to handle emotional and educational needs of your child here.

$$ well spent for attending preschool

Postby JazN » Sat Nov 24, 2012 1:47 am

dear mummies & daddies,

how do u gauge if the $$ spent on preschool is worthwhile for your child?

My child is attending a full day preschool and I am starting to wonder if the $$$ spent equates to my child learning more things than at home, beside myself not being an art person.

Her preschool is teaching letterland reciting some alphabets like a=apple for eg either is forgotten or know but don't want to say out.

I know my child remembers if i self taught basic spelling and eg e=egg.

Will appreciate any parents'"input :)

Thks lots!!!

JazN
OrangeBelt
OrangeBelt

Re: $$ well spent for attending preschool

Postby Little Pudding » Tue Nov 27, 2012 3:11 pm

I feel attending pre school is not just about learning but can also be a good opportunity for your child to interact with other kids :)

Perhaps you can buy those spelling puzzle cards from toyrus to aid for spelling.

Little Pudding
YellowBelt
YellowBelt

Postby cherrygal » Wed Nov 28, 2012 9:44 pm

Yah, agree with Little Pudding about the social interaction part.

You can take her out of school and teach her yourself if you are a really patient and passionate teacher or are trained in childhood education.

It's not easy handling the kid 24 hours a day (coz you are mom AND teacher) and have to engage the kid meaningfully. That's why most kids who stay at home tend to watch lots of TV or spend hours on the iPad. I would rather they do something constructive at the preschool.

cherrygal
KiasuGrandMaster
KiasuGrandMaster

Postby JazN » Wed Nov 28, 2012 10:43 pm