don't know what to do!

Parental influence on children in the first 12 years of their lives have a permanent effect. Unfortunately, children come with no user manual. Each child is different from the other. Discuss how to handle emotional and educational needs of your child here.

don't know what to do!

Postby mydaughte's mum » Sun Jan 27, 2013 4:08 pm

hello parents!!!! im a newbie here and this is my first post, so forgive me if anything's wrong... :) and i'm also sorry if i posted in the wrong forum
i'm posting this as i am concerned about my daughter. she's in sec 3 this year and her results have been quite good since primary one. But last year she started failing some subjects such as mathematics and science. i'm worried as she does not seem to be able to cope with school very well... she keeps procrastinating and does not seem to have a sense of urgency! Also, she is very careless and forgetful and often loses valuable objects such as her phone and keys. Another problem is that she keeps fidgeting and shaking her legs when seated down, and when i try to stop her, she'll say that she can't help it. Can anyone suggest reasons for these problems? Thanks, you help will be much appreciated!! :thankyou:

mydaughte's mum
KiasuNewbie
KiasuNewbie

Re: don't know what to do!

Postby ScaredyMum » Wed Jan 30, 2013 2:16 pm

Hi, I am no expert, jus sharing my personal experience.

My results in Pri was OK, did quite well in PSLE too (can't rmb the marks).
Went into an Autonomous Sec Sch and started failing my Math & Sci since Sec 1.
Still failing Math in Sec 3, in Sec 4, realised was cos I didn't have enough practice. No practice = no understanding of question. Started practicing math real hard. Along the way, questions I didn't understand, I would ask friends or teacher.

Didn't do Physics and Chem in upper Sec, only did Biology, that was ok.
Managed to get B3 in O Levels Math.

As for carelessness/forgetfulness, no experience on that.