Any mummies teaching phonics at home? Please share here tks

Parental influence on children in the first 12 years of their lives have a permanent effect. Unfortunately, children come with no user manual. Each child is different from the other. Discuss how to handle emotional and educational needs of your child here.

Any mummies teaching phonics at home? Please share here tks

Postby Katetay » Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:58 pm

Hi mummies out there,

My gal is 4year 2month,I have been reading to her and she can read sight words.because of some financial issue,I can't afford to send her to phonics class and I'm hoping that I can teach her phonics myself at home.

I'm just an olevel graduate and not good in English so I hope mummies who are teaching their kids phonics at home kindly share here .. Really hope to get reply and discussion on how to teach phonics.

I used to follow tamarind blog but it was taken down.so I really don know where should I start or any blog I can follow now.

Thanks in advance
Kate

Katetay
OrangeBelt
OrangeBelt

Re: Any mummies teaching phonics at home? Please share here

Postby slmkhoo » Mon Feb 17, 2014 9:09 pm

Try this website.

http://www.starfall.com/

You can also get a set of books (I used one of the Ladybird series, but there are many other sets of readers now) and just work through them.

slmkhoo
KiasuGrandMaster
KiasuGrandMaster

Postby mamemo » Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:27 am

My kids started with leapfrog DVDs, where they learnt about vowel and consonants sounds, to blending and forming more complex words.

To strengthen what they learn, we bought a set of Phonics Readers and Workbooks from Popular and work through them with the kids. I think they are from pelangi (Not very sure), set of 4 thin readers and workbook and comes with CD/DVD too.