Celebrating Birthdays in Primary School

Parental influence on children in the first 12 years of their lives have a permanent effect. Unfortunately, children come with no user manual. Each child is different from the other. Discuss how to handle emotional and educational needs of your child here.

Celebrating Birthdays in Primary School

Postby lazyvain » Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:02 pm

First of all, i would like to say hi to all. I'm a newbie at Kiasuparents but have been browsing through this site for some time now.

My girl just started primary school this year. She's celebrating her birthday next week and have no idea how birthdays are spent in P1. In her old kindergarten - birthday girls/boys bring goodie bags to school or parents bring cake to share to classmates.

Any advise or experience on this? Thanks!

lazyvain
KiasuNewbie
KiasuNewbie

Birthday Celebration for Primary Schoolers

Postby buds » Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:10 pm

You can still continue the tradition with the goodie bags for your
child's friends if you want, but the only difference is in P1 parents
aren't allowed in as compared to during pre-school years' celebrations.

B'day children can only bring in the loot themselves and ask the teacher's
permission to be allowed to distribute the birthday goodie bags to all the
classmates.

So far, most common i've experienced for Primary schoolers is parents
sending out invites to the students in the class through the birthday child,
to celebrate or attend birthday party venue outside during the weekends (Sat/Sun)...
could be a fast food outlet, a children's venue like Art Boot Camp,
eXplorer Kids, Genius R Us... (etc) or even the birthday child's home..

buds
KiasuGrandMaster
KiasuGrandMaster

Postby lazyvain » Tue Jan 12, 2010 3:23 pm

thanks buds!

lazyvain
KiasuNewbie
KiasuNewbie

Postby Andaiz » Tue Jan 12, 2010 3:47 pm

Great for you...my DD1 has her bdy end December so it was a mad scramble for phone numbers that we've forgotten over the course of the year...