Would you hire a 16 year old tutor?

Parental influence on children in the first 12 years of their lives have a permanent effect. Unfortunately, children come with no user manual. Each child is different from the other. Discuss how to handle emotional and educational needs of your child here.

Would you hire a 16 year old tutor?

Postby Jolow » Sun Sep 06, 2015 1:17 am

Hi everyone.
I'm currently studying in ACS(I) and will be taking my O Levels later this year.
I am thinking of conducting tuition classes for students up to 16 years old after my O's end in November.

I had all A's for AMath, EMath, Physics and Chemistry for my prelim exams and would be most confident in teaching Secondary 3 and Secondary 4 students. A female friend of mine from RGS would be working with me too in teaching English and Math subjects for parents that are uncomfortable with a tutor of the opposite gender for their child. She also has A's for English and her two Maths. All relevant documents can be provided to prove our grades.

Here are some reasons why I feel someone younger, though less experienced, would be able to be a better tutor.
1. Able to better connect with your child - Many students find it hard to focus when listening to tutors that are much older.
2. The content is fresh in our minds - We can understand the common problems people face when trying to understand the subject hence we are able to explain better
3. Cheaper [15/hr] - The average tutor costs upwards of 30/hr for the secondary level.

Therefore, I would first like to see whether you parents would be willing to hire people my age as your child's tutor, especially when the difference in age could be minimal. Thanks! :imcool:

Jolow
KiasuNewbie
KiasuNewbie

Re: Would you hire a 16 year old tutor?

Postby Joy of Learning 111 » Sun Sep 06, 2015 8:55 am

Hello, Jolow. Good for you for having initiative and the entrepreneurial spirit and I wish you the very best.