My girl acts dumb in class but is a smart alec at home

Parental influence on children in the first 12 years of their lives have a permanent effect. Unfortunately, children come with no user manual. Each child is different from the other. Discuss how to handle emotional and educational needs of your child here.

My girl acts dumb in class but is a smart alec at home

Postby on_plus_kiasu » Tue Mar 23, 2010 11:32 am

Hi all,

I know i'm being super kiasu but I find it disturbing. My girl recently got a progress report from her playgroup. She has got all her intelligences marked as Not Yet Capable even for putting on her shoes :shock: . I'm disturbed :( because my girls are rather advanced.
I was a nursery school teacher and my girls are way pass all the milestones for any gross or fine motor skills. She can dress her self and out on her shoes fine, she evens helps her sister put her shoes on. They have even got their phonics right, she at 23 months and her sister at 13months. The only thing i agree with the teacher is her alphabets and maths. I didn't push her yet to memorise her alphabets so she knows only those she finds interesting. What should i do? Is this really a cause for worry? And the funny thing is, she's totally opposite for her Chinese classes!! The teachers there always praise my girl for being independent and for having initiative :? .....HELP!!! :cry:

on_plus_kiasu
OrangeBelt
OrangeBelt

Postby tankee » Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:28 pm

Perhaps she is afraid of the teacher and froze with fear, unable to response properly when questioned by the teacher.

:?

tankee
Site Admin

Postby tutormum » Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:59 pm