Tutor Niedino: Pri Science Questions and Concepts

Getting your child into that dream Primary school is just the start of a 6 year journey. Discuss issues you face with supporting your child's studies in Primary schools.
Forum rules Gentle reminder before posting questions in the Academic Support Forums: Please ensure you post your question in the correct thread. Try not to start new threads.

Tutor Niedino: Pri Science Questions and Concepts

Postby Niedino » Tue May 18, 2010 8:51 am

Hi all,

Thought I'll start a thread on this, as I have come across many common science misconceptions that persist among our children today. As a primary school teacher, I often encounter pupils coming in with misconceptions gained from their incomplete understanding of the scientific phenomena around them. :idea: This would in turn affect their understanding when they go to school.

A very common example is the concept of steam. Steam is actually hot water vapour. MISCONCEPTION ALERT! Since we cannot SEE water vapour, we also cannot SEE steam. What we can see from the kettle when water is boiling is the CONDENSATION of steam when it LOSES HEAT to the cooler surrounding air. Many pupils often misunderstand the "hot white mist" to be steam, but they are actually very tiny water droplets (liquid form) rather than steam.

I'll try to maintain a thread on common Science questions, concepts and misconceptions, and how we can guide our children to understand these concepts. Do chip in with your child's questions and misconceptions or misunderstandings as well, and perhaps we can collate them all into a useful piece of information for all parents. :D

Niedino
OrangeBelt
OrangeBelt

Postby Eddow » Tue May 18, 2010 8:58 am

Thanks alot for starting this thread. Yes. my son at times will also misconcept abt the steam too.. Will post questions if I come across.
I think it's a great way to share and be corrected..
^_^

Eddow
GreenBelt
GreenBelt