Tutor My Tution Haven: P5/P6 English Tips

Getting your child into that dream Primary school is just the start of a 6 year journey. Discuss issues you face with supporting your child's studies in Primary schools.
Forum rules Gentle reminder before posting questions in the Academic Support Forums: Please ensure you post your question in the correct thread. Try not to start new threads.

Tutor My Tution Haven: P5/P6 English Tips

Postby My Tuition Haven » Wed Sep 14, 2011 11:33 am

Hi,

I was an ex-Primary school teacher who specialized in teaching PSLE English. Being a mum of two young children and a part-time private tutor, I enjoy discussing with other parents about the Singapore education system and sharing tips.

I thought it would be nice to share with other parents here some of my tips. Please do take note that these tips are from MY own personal experiences, working to improve my students' marks. They are by no means a foolproof method in increasing a student's grades. These are just tips.

Tip 1
Vocabulary.
Having a large vocabulary is extremely useful in all exam components - Writing/ Oral / and Vocab MCQ as well as Cloze/ Cloze passage

As I am a 'fan' of past year papers (as my P6 students last yr happily found out during their PSLE, that passages are sometimes 'recycled'), i take vocabulary words from those papers and create my lists. These lists are then given to my students on a weekly basis and they are tested the following week.
These lists are easy to make - parents or your child's tutor can do it at home and are a great help during the PSLE year.

This is an example below taken from RGPS Prelim 2011. RGPS is 'notorious' for their challenging Vocab sections, though Pei Chun's Prelim this yr was the hardest among all the 2011 papers.

Vocabulary List
P 6 RGPS Prelim 2011

1) appalled – shocked
2) disenchanted – not happy/ satisfied about something anymore
3) stoic – showing no emotion (when something bad is happening)