P6 Student seeking help : A few questions to ask.....

Getting your child into that dream Primary school is just the start of a 6 year journey. Discuss issues you face with supporting your child's studies in Primary schools.
Forum rules Gentle reminder before posting questions in the Academic Support Forums: Please ensure you post your question in the correct thread. Try not to start new threads.

P6 Student seeking help : A few questions to ask.....

Postby hamsterss » Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:02 pm

Hi,im a primary six student + newcomer here :oops:

Please answer my questions below :?:

1.Can anyone give me a example of a timetable for primary six student?

2.My psle target is 240 and the following is my last year result.
Eng - 79
Maths - 78
MT - 82
Sci - 68
Is my target to high?
Ps.i dunno the calculation for psle.Can anyone let me know how? :oops:

3.How to improve my science?! :?:

Thanks alot ! :lol:

hamsterss
YellowBelt
YellowBelt

Postby CoffeeCat » Fri Mar 19, 2010 10:40 pm

psle calculation is different from the usual add-up-everything-and-times-75%.
For each subject they give you a score based on your raw score compared to the average score of the cohort, in laymen terms. In other words its not so much about you against the paper but you against the many other students taking the psle like you.

Improve your science by...
1st understanding the concepts and how they relate to each other under a topic
next do more questions on that topic. Learn when you come across questions involving higher-order thinking & application skills.
Investing in good science assessment books or exam papers of other schools will be good.

CoffeeCat
BrownBelt
BrownBelt

Postby tutormum » Sat Mar 20, 2010 12:54 am

Hi Hamsterss,