Mummy momof3littles: Newbie here from the US

Newbies report here first! And if you feel like you would like your own club, come and create one yourself too.

Mummy momof3littles: Newbie here from the US

Postby momof3littles » Thu Jul 17, 2008 4:05 am

Hello, I accidentally found this website while looking into schools for my kids. I am a Chinese American mom living in the US and we might be moving to Singapore for my husband's job. My children are 4, 2, and 1. I did not understand what kiasu meant but am finding everything here very intriguing. I guess I would consider my husband and myself kiasu parents here in the States. We have always looked into helping our children prepare for elementary school, which you would consider primary. We are considered a little more "intense" than other parents here, but most Asian parents do push more based on our own upbringing.

I also posted a question regarding peanut allergies under the Child Management section and will most likely ask you all for more information if our plans for Singapore come through.

momof3littles
KiasuNewbie
KiasuNewbie

Re: Newbie here from the US

Postby ChiefKiasu » Fri Jul 18, 2008 12:14 am

momof3littles wrote:Hello, I accidentally found this website while looking into schools for my kids. I am a Chinese American mom living in the US and we might be moving to Singapore for my husband's job. My children are 4, 2, and 1. I did not understand what kiasu meant but am finding everything here very intriguing. I guess I would consider my husband and myself kiasu parents here in the States. We have always looked into helping our children prepare for elementary school, which you would consider primary. We are considered a little more "intense" than other parents here, but most Asian parents do push more based on our own upbringing.