2014 Sec 4 Discussions

PSLE marks the graduation of Primary school students and their entry into Secondary schools as teenagers. Discuss all issues about Secondary schooling here.

Help with O'levels 2014

Postby dreamerz718 » Fri Dec 06, 2013 4:33 pm

Hi Everyone!

I would like to post a lengthy confession, or'd rather a 'rant' here and seek advice from other fellow students and parents.
I'm a secondary 4 express student in a Top second-tier/ low first-tier secondary school. My O'levels are coming up next year and my goal is to be a single-point scorer although I have little interest in the JC path.

I've been well motivated for my Secondary 3 EOYs with considerable leap in results, however still rather mediocre as compared to my peers. I'm dedicating my holidays to brush up my A-math and biology in which I did not do as well for the year.

However, I have a problem. I am extremely unmotivated to study. Starting and sitting down with my books is no problem, but actually being productive is another issue. I feel extremely tired everyday and I lack focus.
One main reason is also because I do not actually know how to study, I am often confused on what is the best possible way to study. I am lost and then I try new methods and give up halfway. At the end of the day, I'm going around in mere circles, which frustrates me to no end.
So far, I have to grimly admit that I have been unproductive. I feel that I cannot work well during the holidays, I like to be pushed by classes and school. I can focus well in tuition classes, but when it comes to my own revision, I'm rather lost and unsure of what to do. My peers are simply brush off that they aren't studying this holidays and tells me not to worry (but who knows?).