Preschool Curriculum

Looking for that infant/childcare, pre-school or student care with caring teachers or enrichments? Share your findings here.

Postby huskies » Wed Nov 26, 2008 4:52 pm

Hi Insider,

Very insightful. I have been teaching my son at home and he is quite advanced for his age. He will turn 3 next year and I am looking for a preschool that has a well established curriculum. Have checked out Kinderland at Sunshine Place, Montessori at Jurong Ext, Raffles Preschool at Turf City, Qdees at Yunnan and Pat's at Arena. Quite like Pat's Schoolhouse but unfortunately charges childcare fees. I am a secondary school teacher so I am aware of what makes a good curriculum. Are you a teacher too? Any recommendations?

Huskies

huskies
OrangeBelt
OrangeBelt

Re: Preschool Curriculum

Postby ChiefKiasu » Wed Nov 26, 2008 6:09 pm

insider wrote:...unfortunately most parents don't know how to assess curriculum...

This is very true. I believe this is a very critical area which we need some form of certification and standardization.

insider, any quick pointers for us regarding what we should be looking for when assessing childcare curriculum?

ChiefKiasu
Site Admin

Preschool Curriculum

Postby kwcllf » Wed Nov 26, 2008 9:57 pm

Hi insider,

Thanks for giving some insight into the curriculum of pre-schools. Although an established childcare chain may have a curriculum that sounds impressive, citing certain 'prestigious' programmes, it is also important how it is carried out. As parents, sometimes we don't have any idea what is actually going on day-in-day-out. According to the timetable, the latter half of the day is set aside for "bridging programme", "free-play", enrichment programme, etc........ I think this is giving the cc too much leeway as I understand, the children are usually left to do things or play on their own to while away time.