Help/Advice Regarding Tuition Fee Scammers

Use this forum if you are looking for individual services (eg. Part-time maid, tutors, plumber) KiasuParents.com takes no responsibility for any transactions that take place here.
Last post expiry: 21 days

Help/Advice Regarding Tuition Fee Scammers

Postby h070069 » Thu Dec 24, 2015 11:16 pm

Dear parents/tutors,

I am a fulltime tutor who is currently encountering issues with tuition fee payment from a parent and the tuition agency who provided the assignment. I have conducted a total of 15 lessons with his daughter. He has only paid a commission of 6 lessons to the tuition agency, and I have yet to receive a single cent for the remaining 9 lessons that I have conducted.

Summary of assignment details:
- 3 lessons/week, 2hrs/lesson. Payment is supposed to be made every 12 lessons.

- Father proclaims himself to be a "Singaporean expat" who is very busy.

- I have never met the father before because on the few occasions that he is at home, he is always in his room while tuition is conducted at the dining table.

- Father has never replied any of my calls/texts; I have to rely on the mother to pass messages to him.

- I tried calling + texting him to enquire about payment method on the 9th lesson. He ignored all my calls and texts but finally called me back after the 11th lesson when I asked the mother to speak to him on my behalf.

- He told me that instead of payment every 12 lessons, it would be easier to calculate all the lessons at one go and he can pay me at the end of Dec via internet bank transfer as it is more convenient. I agreed.

- In Dec, he started cancelling lessons via text message. In total he cancelled 9 lessons. Most of the lessons were cancelled shortly before they were scheduled to start (lesson starts at 2pm, he cancels at 1pm).