Soya Sauce

KiasuParents are not only kiasu about our children - we are serious when it comes to good food. Discuss all culinary matters here, from cooking to buffets or fine dining.

Soya Sauce

Postby dokomo » Mon Aug 01, 2011 2:05 pm

Hi,

May I ask which brand of light soya sauce mummies here are using pls? Any recommendations pls?

I used Braggs brand before, but the taste is wierd. Kikoman taste is fine but realised the ingredients has alcohol. Also realised that the LKK brand has MSG. (thot i saw monosodium g... as one of the ingredient)

TIA!

dokomo
OrangeBelt
OrangeBelt

Re: Soya Sauce

Postby northernstar » Mon Aug 01, 2011 2:11 pm

My mom has been using Da Hua light soy sauce since i was small... e smell is ok but i dunno got MSG or not.

northernstar
BlueBelt
BlueBelt

Postby UncleLim » Tue Aug 09, 2011 9:53 pm

northernstar wrote:My mom has been using Da Hua light soy sauce since i was small... e smell is ok but i dunno got MSG or not.

I am not a sauce expert but someone told me that for Tai Hwa brand, I should only buy the ones that states "naturally brewed".

UncleLim
BrownBelt
BrownBelt

Postby tamagotchi » Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:27 pm

I buy my soy sauce from organic shop. The one that I'm using now stated one year natural fermentation and no MSG added. It cost around 10 bucks a 750ml bottle, I find it very fragrant and taste good. The brand is Ahimsa.

tamagotchi
KiasuNewbie
KiasuNewbie

Postby carebear » Wed Aug 10, 2011 6:24 pm

I like Tiger top quality light soy sauce.

I have tried many brands and I like this best.

carebear
KiasuGrandMaster
KiasuGrandMaster

Postby SAHM_TAN » Wed Aug 10, 2011 6:47 pm

I bought mine from kwong woh hing sauce factory. www.kwh.com.sg

They brewed it themselves and I love it that they use glass bottles. They made many other sauces too. They brewed it the old fashion way and it takes about a yr for each batch.