Chicken Confusion

KiasuParents are not only kiasu about our children - we are serious when it comes to good food. Discuss all culinary matters here, from cooking to buffets or fine dining.

Chicken Confusion

Postby Sun_2010 » Thu Dec 11, 2014 2:48 pm

I am a total newbie , trying my hand out at cooking chicken- mainly for my kids. And I have lot of really stupid questions....

Is there any place I can get free range or organic chicken ? If not what sort of chicken is the "gooder" one? I see at NTUc Finest a Deli- is chicken sold there better then the ones sold under the brand say Pasar?

Can some one explain to me what is good for what? In super market I find different packing chicken breast, thigh, boneless chicken. The drumstick I kind of have an idea what to do but for making curry which is better ? Is it advisable to remove the skin before cooking?

If I ever become brave enough to go to the wet market and get chicken , what should i ask for? Chicken brought from the wet market can be refridgerated after cleaning or before cleaning? Once I buy , how long can I safely keep out before cleaning & cooking?

And anything else that I should keep in mind while buying or cooking chicken?

And I thought chicken was just chicken :sweat:

Sun_2010
KiasuGrandMaster
KiasuGrandMaster

Re: Chicken Confusion

Postby DaddyKC » Thu Dec 11, 2014 4:01 pm

am a total newbie , trying my hand out at cooking chicken- mainly for my kids. And I have lot of really stupid questions....

Is there any place I can get free range or organic chicken ? If not what sort of chicken is the "gooder" one? I see at NTUc Finest a Deli- is chicken sold there better then the ones sold under the brand say Pasar?

Normal super market do not carry free range or organic chicken.
Don't mistaken Kampung chicken as free range as there is clearly no guidelines as the definitions of kamoung chicken, it can still be roaming freely but injected with hormones and feed chemical feed.