Ang Mo Kio Secondary School

Having survived PSLE. we still need to network with other parents with kids in the same Secondary school. While giving our teenagers their own space, we can update each other about the school.

Ang Mo Kio Secondary School

Postby jacz » Sat Nov 27, 2010 2:36 pm

Anyone has children from this school and what's your feedback?
Thinking that my son (score of 230) should opt this school as his top choice as they have been very strong academically and very consistent too.
Seems like AMKSS (COP 217, achieved band 4 in 2010) is a better choice than Presbyterian (COP 229, band 5) or Chung Cheng Yishun (COP 230, band 6)

Please do offer your views.
Thank you!

jacz
YellowBelt
YellowBelt

Postby nerdguy » Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:32 pm

Hi jacz,

I graduated in amk sec quite sometime ago. AMKSS provided a very condusive environment back then for me for studying and learning. It also focuses on all-round development of individual. My year the cut off point was 230+. The average L1R5 was 13+ which is quite an achievement for a neighbourhood school. I myself had a L1R5 of 10.

In terms of academic,when the ranking of secondary school was still in placed, AMKSS was best ranked 18th in the whole singapore (bear in mind that integrated programme schools were ranked together as well) and was named the best non-automous government school for quite a few years.

Teachers are friendly and the environment is less-stressful than any other schools. I myself did not regret going to ang mo kio. I had a fruitful and wonderful 4 years in the school. We played and study at the same time.

nerdguy
KiasuNewbie
KiasuNewbie

Postby jacz » Tue Nov 30, 2010 3:42 pm

nerdguy wrote:Hi jacz,