Self-employed: How do you manage your finances?

With rising costs and increased learning needs, financing our children's education is no longer a simple walk in the park. Discuss with other parents about how they are managing their finances to cope with their expenses.

Self-employed: How do you manage your finances?

Postby Rejoin » Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:11 am

The following post express my views (and my views only). It's not meant to advise or counsel people.

I'm a self-employed tutor in my early 30s. I have to be extra careful with my finances since I do not get employer contribution to my CPF, or the benefits of a secured job (i.e. like school teachers or some permanent employee).

The following is how I handle my finances, in decreasing order of priority.

1. Health insurance/Hospitalization plans.
- I look through all the 5 major insurance companies and buy a private medical insurance (plan A). All plan A schemes are comparable to one another. I chose Great Eastern Life. I also purchased a full-rider.

2. Life insurance.
- This is for the benefit of my loved ones, should I pass away (young). When I'm old, this is for the benefit of my family and children. My total coverage is more than 300k (which is not a lot by today's standards).

3. Critical illness/Term insurance.
- I bought a CI plan, for some medium term coverage.

4. Contribution to CPF
- I contribute to my OA, SA and Medisave account on a monthly basis.

5. Retirement planning.
- I have plans with various insurance companies for retirement plans.

6. Stock investing/Fixed deposits/Liquid Cash.
- I invest some of my liquid cash into short-term fixed deposits, or stocks. For high liquidity, I recommend OCBC360, as well as the current various promotions offered by UOB, POSB (up to 1.5% interest p.a.).

As for how much I spend on them.
1. About 800/year.
2. Approximately 10% of my yearly income.
3. Approximately 5% of my yearly income.
4. Approximately 10% of my yearly income.