Savings Vs Investment

With rising costs and increased learning needs, financing our children's education is no longer a simple walk in the park. Discuss with other parents about how they are managing their finances to cope with their expenses.

Savings Vs Investment

Postby mksmn » Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:11 am

I have a friend who is a housewife and would like to have more "income" for herself. She is contemplating between fix deposit and investment that are safe as she is talking about only a 5k or 7k (I can't remember the exact amount).

She said the interest for fix deposit is very little base on her amount. Around $100+- per year (or two?). If she goes for investment, she is not sure which or what to go for as she is afraid of the risk involve and only wants some decent interest.

I can understand her situation as I used to be a housewife before too but I have no idea and knowledge in this area, thus couldn't provide any good advice for her.

Can someone give some good advice and suggestion please? If fix deposit, which bank yield a higher interest and if investment, which type and where can she goes to.

TIA.

mksmn
OrangeBelt
OrangeBelt

Re: Savings Vs Investment

Postby starlight1968sg » Mon Feb 22, 2016 11:19 am

No risk, no gain.
Higher return likely to come with higher risk.

For Fixed Deposit, we have an active thread at
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum ... 47&t=82168

starlight1968sg
KiasuGrandMaster
KiasuGrandMaster

Postby pirate » Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:08 pm

5k or 7k? Might just as well buy Singapore Savings Bonds.

Want potential high return too? Take $2 every half year from the interest and buy some Toto tickets.

There. Zero capital risk with very high potential return and minimal transaction cost.

And that, ladies and gentlemen, is what the financial institutions call a "structured product". :wink: