Worried about my son going to sec 1

Academic support for Primary 6 and PSLE

Worried about my son going to sec 1

Postby arj13 » Wed Nov 05, 2014 2:15 pm

Hi all,

I am new to this so pardon me if I am not doing something right.

My son just completed his PSLE this year. I have friends whose children have gone on to Sec 1. They have been telling me about the massive jump that occurs from P6 to S1. From 4 subjects to 8-9 subjects, a huge change in the curriculum for math and science, CCA and so many other things.

I was just wondering if anyone here also has the same worries or am I being overly paranoid. I just want my kids to have fun, this is the only time they will be kids.

Thanks!

:sweat: :sweat:

arj13
KiasuNewbie
KiasuNewbie

Re: Worried about my son going to sec 1

Postby slmkhoo » Wed Nov 05, 2014 2:47 pm

Try looking at the positives. Being exposed to more subjects makes learning more interesting. Learning to cope with more subjects stretches their abilities and helps them grow, and they will have a greater sense of achievement. CCA can be hard work, but that doesn't mean it can't be fun too. I think a lot of the stress comes from having overly high expectations. If you are realistic in expecting your son needing some time to grow into the extra demands of sec school, help him with the transition, encourage him to try new things and stretch himself, help him learn to pick himself up and try again etc, sec school is great time for learning and growing. I have 2 girls aged 15 and 17yo, and their transition went fine. Not that they didn't make mistakes, get stressed etc when they encountered the various 'first times', but learning to cope and overcome difficulties has been a great growing up experience for them.

slmkhoo
KiasuGrandMaster
KiasuGrandMaster

Postby lexis » Wed Nov 05, 2014 3:10 pm