School Terms and Holidays for 2017

1. The school year for 2017 for all MOE primary and secondary schools will start from Tuesday, 3 January and end on Friday, 17 November 2017.

School Calendar 2017

PRIMARY & SECONDARY
Semester I
Term I Tue 3 Jan to Fri 10 Mar
Term II Mon 20 Mar to Fri 26 May
Semester II
Term III Tue 27 Jun to Thu 31 Aug
Term IV Mon 11 Sep to *Fri 17 Nov

*The last day of the final school term for schools which will be used as venues for the GCE O Level written examinations will be Friday 27 October 2017.

JUNIOR COLLEGE (JC) Year 1 & Millennia Institute (MI) Year 1 MI Year 2 JC Year 2 & MI Year 3
Semester I
Term I 1Fri 3 Feb to Fri 10 Mar Mon 9 Jan to Fri 10 Mar
Term II Mon 20 Mar to Fri 26 May
Semester II
Term III Tue 27 Jun to Thu 31 Aug
Term IV Mon 11 Sep to Fri 24 Nov Mon 11 Sep to end of ‘A’-Level exams


School Vacation 2017

2. The four vacation periods for schools, junior colleges and centralised institute for 2017 will be as follows:

  PRI & SEC
Between Terms I & II Sat 11 Mar to Sun 19 Mar
Between Semesters I & II Sat 27 May to Sun 25 Jun
Between Terms III & IV Sat 2 Sep to Sun 10 Sep
At End of School Year Sat 18 Nov to Sun 31 Dec


JC Year 1, MI Year 1 & MI Year 2 JC Year 2 & MI Year 3
Between Terms I & II Sat 11 Mar to Sun 19 Mar
Between Semesters I & II Sat 27 May to Sun 25 Jun
Between Terms III & IV Sat 2 Sep to Sun 10 Sep
At End of School Year Sat 25 Nov to Sun 31 Dec End of ‘A’ Level exams to Sun 31 Dec


3. The scheduled school holidays and public holidays for 2017 will be as follows:

Scheduled School Holidays 2017

Youth Day Sun 2 Jul
(The following Monday, 3 Jul 2017 will be a scheduled school holiday)
Day after National Day Thu 10 Aug
Teachers’ Day Thu 31 Aug
Children’s Day
(for primary schools and primary sections of full schools only)
Fri 6 Oct

Public Holidays 2017

Term I New Year’s Day *Sun 1 Jan
Chinese New Year **Sat 28 Jan
*** Sun 29 Jan
Term II Good Friday Fri 14 Apr
Labour Day Mon 1 May
Vesak Day Wed 10 May
Term III Hari Raya Puasa ****Sun 25 Jun
National Day Wed 9 Aug
Term IV
Hari Raya Haji Fri 1 Sep
Deepavali Wed 18 Oct
Christmas Day Mon 25 Dec
* Monday, 2 January will be a public holiday.
** Tuesday, 31 January, will be a school holiday.
***Monday, 30 January will be a public holiday.
****Monday, 26 June will be a public holiday.

4. The school terms and holidays for 2017 is available on the MOE’s website at www.moe.gov.sg/education/school-terms-and-holidays.

Footnotes
  1. JC Year 1 and MI Year 1 start on 3 Feb as ‘O’ Level results are released in mid-Jan and time is needed to process the students’ applications to JCs/MI.
260 views